(Last Updated On: October 17, 2023)

India, a vibrant democracy, has seen its fair share of leaders who have shouldered the responsibility of safeguarding the nation’s constitutional integrity. The President of India, as the ceremonial head of state, has played a pivotal role in upholding the democratic values that underpin the nation. This article will shed light on the President of India list from 1947 to 2023 and discuss their role and significance over the seven decades since gaining independence.

The Founding Years: Dr. Rajendra Prasad (1950-1962)

Dr. Rajendra Prasad, the first President of independent India, set the precedent for the highest office in the land. During his tenure from 1950 to 1962, he not only fulfilled his ceremonial duties but also acted as a unifying force for the newly independent nation. His dedication to preserving the democratic fabric of India was exemplary.

The Visionary: Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (1962-1967)

Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, the philosopher-president, brought intellectual depth to the office. He emphasised education and the importance of knowledge in nation-building. His presidency from 1962 to 1967 was marked by a commitment to promoting India’s rich cultural and intellectual heritage.

Indira Gandhi’s Era: V. V. Giri (1967-1969)

During a period of political turmoil, V. V. Giri assumed office from 1967 to 1969. His presidency was significant for the country as he faced challenges arising from the clash between the President and the Prime Minister. Despite these challenges, he upheld constitutional values.

The Quiet Stalwart: R. Venkataraman (1984-1994)

  1. Venkataraman’s tenure from 1984 to 1994 was marked by stability and quiet efficiency. He steered the nation through tumultuous times, including the Bofors scandal, with grace and dignity. His unwavering commitment to the Constitution was commendable.

K. R. Narayanan: A Beacon of Social Justice (1997-2002)

  1. R. Narayanan’s presidency from 1997 to 2002 was a symbol of India’s commitment to social justice and inclusivity. As the first Dalit President, he championed the cause of marginalised communities and worked to bridge societal divides.

The Missile Man’s Presidency: Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam (2002-2007)

Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam- the Missile Man of India, assumed office from 2002 to 2007. His presidency was marked by his passion for science and education. He inspired the youth of India and promoted scientific temperament.

Pratibha Patil: Breaking Barriers (2007-2012)

Pratibha Patil’s presidency from 2007 to 2012 was a testament to the evolving role of women in Indian politics. She broke gender barriers by becoming the first woman to hold the office of President. Her tenure emphasised gender equality and empowerment.

A. P. J. Abdul Kalam’s Second Term (2012-2017)

Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam’s re-election in 2012 for a second term showed the nation’s enduring respect for his contributions. His second term, sadly cut short by his passing in 2015, continued to focus on education and youth empowerment.

The People’s President: Ram Nath Kovind (2017-2022)

Ram Nath Kovind, the current President of India, has held office since 2017. His presidency has been marked by his dedication to the welfare of the marginalised and his commitment to inclusivity.

The First Tribal President: Droupadi Murmu (2022-present)

Droupadi Murmu is the new President of the Republic of India, elected in July 2022. Droupadi Murmu is India’s second female President and the country’s first tribal President. After Shri Ram Nath Kovind, Droupadi Murmu is the country of India’s fifteenth president. The 64-year-old former teacher and BJP candidate hails from the state of Odisha (Orissa), where she previously served as a state governor.

Summing up, over seven decades, India’s Presidents have played a vital role in upholding the nation’s democratic values and constitutional integrity. Each has brought their unique perspective and strengths to the highest office in the land. From the founding years to the present, these Guardians of the Republic enlisted in the President of India list from 1947 to 2023 have helped shape the nation’s destiny without being promotional or opinionated and have remained committed to the principles of democracy and unity, steering the country through both calm and stormy waters.

Content Quality Form

Content Proof checked by: Bhawna Thakur


  1. Related to the client’s products or services (Yes)
  2. No Review type content (Yes)
  3. Relevant to the target link included in the article (Yes)


  1. Topic should be editorial and related to the brand’s product or service (Yes)
  2. Content should not be overly promotional about the brand’s product or service (Yes)
  3. Quality (Yes)
  4. Written in US English (Yes)
  5. No grammar, spelling errors, run on sentences, etc. (Yes)
  6. Minimum 500 words (Yes)
  7. Tense, POV maintained across the content (Yes)


  1. Link is geo-focused; content should be related to that geo. Ex: if the link is about a specific location, the content should also be related to that location (Yes)
  2. Link is not out of place with the content (Yes)
  3. Link should appear as early in the content as possible (Yes)
  4. Only include the 1 brand link provided (i.e. do not add additional links to the client’s other pages or homepage unless specified) (Yes)

Anchor Text:

  1. Matches exactly with what is provided (pay attention to intentional misspellings and upper/lowercase) (Yes)
  2. Flows naturally into the sentence and not be awkwardly stuffed in other links (Yes)
  3. Included at least 1 outbound relevant link to non-competitor sites (Yes)
  4. Included at least 1 internal relevant link within the shortlisted site (Yes)
  5. Anchor text is relevant to the page it’s linking to (Yes)


  1. Not written as if the client wrote it, do not use terms like “we” and “us” (Yes)
  2. Relevant Image included (No)

Leave A Reply